Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > School me on OG.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2009, 06:57 AM   #1
colbystephens
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default School me on OG.

I brewed a stout this evening. I'm fairly new to brewing, but I've been very successful so far. Tonite I started using the hydrometer. My OG was twelve thousandths low - it was supposed to be at 1.065 and I had it at 1.053.

So, what could I have done that would cause the recipe to be off by this amount? How might the beer have been different if it had a correct OG? I tasted it before I put the yeast in, and it sure tastes great - guess we'll see what happens in about a month.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 07:48 AM   #2
killian
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

what was you're recipe? what was you're temp when you took you're reading?

damn I gotta brew something

Old 12-05-2009, 07:50 AM   #3
feedbag
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 2

What was the temp of the wort when you checked the gravity? That will change it quite a bit. Read up here for some more info. If it is not because of temp correction then you are essentially going to have a lighter beer. What was the recipe and did you do anything different than the recipe, such as substitute Liquid and Dry malt extract? Or change the amount made with more water?

Old 12-05-2009, 11:48 AM   #4
ezerhoden
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

In addition to the other comments, If you did an extract batch don't worry at all about the starting gravity. Your gravity will be very close to what it is supposed to be. When water is added to wort it is very difficult to get the two to mix properly and your reading will be off.