Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Sanitizing in dishwasher - A cautionary tale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2010, 03:48 PM   #11
jonbomb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diver165 View Post
I'm a brewing noob. But seriously, if you've got food particles stuck to your bottles, then you've got issues with your dishwasher. It isn't draining. Maybe its overloaded or or something. If food is stuck to your bottles, then its stuck to your dishes too.

I've never had issues with food particles being stuck on dishes (or bottles) when I run our DW.
LOL maybe he put them in there with dirty dishes...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2010, 03:53 PM   #12
AnOldUR
fer-men-TAY-shuhn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 610 Times on 441 Posts
Likes Given: 456

Quote:
Originally Posted by smizak View Post
I am a triple rinser too, but be wary, the Montrachet yeast in carbed Apfelwein will NOT come out with just a triple rinse. Just ask half of my IPA last summer that turned into nasty, phenolic gushers.
Now if you had run those bottles through a dishwasher with a antibacterial cycle the leftover yeast would have been killed. You might have had ugly floater in your beer, but no gushers. Sanitizers only work on the surface. The inner parts of the yeast gunk are still alive. Heat kills!

Haven't read the whole article Revvy referenced, but if the test was to "evaluate the performance of a general dishwasher" it has no relevence here. I don't think that anyone would argue that using a dishwasher without an antibacterial will sanitize your bottles.

Old 07-02-2010, 04:27 PM   #13
arturo7
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 150 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 1

no soap, sanitize setting, heated dry

works great, never had a problem

Old 07-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #14
Mike M
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts