Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Saison w/ WLP 565 Saison I yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2009, 12:07 AM   #1
hapifam
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Saison w/ WLP 565 Saison I yeast

Hey y'all! I'm new to homebrewing as well as this site. Both totally cool stuff!!

I just started a batch of saison w/ WLP 565 Saison I yeast. I pitched the yeast 42 hours ago and it's still crankin'. It's been fermenting in a room at 80-82 deg. I've read lot's of different things about when to rack w/ this yeast to the secondary fermentor - everything from 2-3 days to a month or more.

My question is this: How do I know when to transfer to the secondary fermentor??? I've read/heard that this yeast takes patience. It just seems that some folks want it to spend more time in the primary vs the secondary fermentor, and I'm a bit confused over the right approach. BTW, OG was about 1.049. I've read that with this yeast, if patient, it can get to a TG of < 1.010.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 12:11 AM   #2
Chello
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I would wait until your hydrometer samples are constant over several readings. That is the only sure fire way to know it is fermented out.

"Retail is for suckers."

Old 07-01-2009, 12:28 AM   #3
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 453 Times on 360 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Wait until it's done fermenting. Let it get to your expect FG (within a couple points) and is steady for a while. Then you can just leave it there to clear like many folks on here do, or you can go to secondary. Me, I'd give it another week or so, then a week in secondary, but I'm just anal that way.

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

Old 07-01-2009, 05:38 AM   #4
RBlagojevich
Recipes 

Likes Given: 5