Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Saison with strange swirling effect

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2013, 11:29 PM   #1
blitzd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Saison with strange swirling effect

I've brewed up a Saison from an Ontario Beer Kegs extract kit, with the only variance being that I used the WLP568 yeast with a 2L starter. Fermentation has gone great and after 2 weeks I've gone from 1.061 OG down to 1.007. Temps were 72f or so for about 3 days, and then I slowly raised it up to 82f in the course of a week and a half. The beer tastes extremely tart, and very citrusy - I'm not so sure about the flavours at the moment, but I'm sure they'll mellow out with a bit more time. I'm new to the Saison style, but after trying a couple this weekend I think it's in the ballpark.

So, all of that aside - the thing that has me posting this, is that when I took a sample today I noticed that moving the hydrometer in my sample jar caused the beer to have a strange swirling effect, much like you'd see with carrot juice. I've never seen that in any beer before, and just wondering if it's common? I thought it may just be from sediment, so I put the sample jar in the fridge for a few hours, but even still just barely stirring the top of it still has the same effect after a few hours of chilling.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2013, 11:27 PM   #2
blitzd
Recipes 

So, this brew ended up being infected, most likely with lacto based on the extremely sour taste and film that has begun forming in the bottle necks. It's overpoweringly sour, and will most likely go to waste. It's semi-drinkable when mixed 1/4 to 3/4 with something else, but doesn't tend to result in anything particularly tasty when mixed with anything I have tried as of yet. It's definitely gotten more sour since I wrote the original post.