Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Rookie Mistakes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 01:39 PM   #1
BuffaloEOD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Rookie Mistakes

Hi everyone, I am a rookie brewer and just completed my third partial grain/extract brew yesterday of the Alaskan Amber Ale clone. Everything went according to plan until 6:30 this morning. My wife heard a large explosion and I sat there thinking what could have caused that. I immediately determined that my modified one way valve on the fermenter failed and created an airburst explosion that covered the spare bedroom in yeast and wort. The one way valve was essentially a 3/8" hose that I inserted into the hole in the stopper connected to a mason jar gilled with star san water. This worked perfectly on the last brew, not so much on this one. During cleanup I ended up stepping on a tack, getting sprayed in the face with wort which stings pretty bad when I tried putting the valve I bought at the store on to see if it worked, and watching the stopper with valve shooting out of the top of the fermenter like a bottle rocket and again covering the room in yeast and wort. I ended up putting the fermenter in a large plastic keg container and putting a garbage bag over the top to contain any mess. I am out of options so I took the top of the valve off and let the garbage bag cover that to prevent contamination.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2013, 01:47 PM   #2
beerman0001
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Search blow off tube. What size is your fermenter? What temp is the wort fermenting at?

Fermenting:Apfelwein
On Deck:
Hiding in dark corner: Lambic, Flanders red, Oud Bruin, DFH 120(in bottles)

Old 01-15-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
ludomonster
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 33