Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Removing hot break/cold break

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Cajun_Tiger33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Removing hot break/cold break

Im a beginner brewer and i was wondering how to remove hot break from the brew kettle when using a CFC. I will be using a hop bag also. i may be over thinking this because im still a little unsure what hot break is. I just want to brew a good beer.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2012, 12:45 AM   #2
deepcdan99
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 23

I have never once worried about cold or hot break, and have turned out great beers everytime, well almost everytime, but was never due to cold/hot break.

Old 09-27-2012, 12:45 AM   #3
xmacro
Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 53

Hot break is bad; you want that gone; best way to get rid of it is to chill the wort quickly via immersion chiller, counterflow chiller, or a good ice bath.

Hot break is what falls to the bottom of the kettle when the wort stops boiling, the trub.

Cold break, aka chill haze, is arguably beneficial for fermenting and the yeast - it stays in solution and is only visible if the beer falls below 40F, so it's harder to remove

Good info:

Hot break: http://morebeer.com/brewingtechnique...4/barchet.html

Cold break: http://morebeer.com/brewingtechnique...2/barchet.html

Old 09-27-2012, 01:25 AM   #4
kanta
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Hot break forms when you are boiling your wort, and is the result of certain proteins coagulating. You won't see much of this, if any at all, if you are brewing extract, as the hot break has already happened to the extract when they were making it.