Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Recipe Formulation & Ingredients Descriptions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2011, 05:26 PM   #51
sirhc1210
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Default AG to Partial Mash Conversion and Batch Size Conversions?

Hey, very informative post... I'll def have to check back once I start making my own recipes. But since I’m pretty new to brewing (only done a Dry Malt Extract Kit and a Liquid Malt Extract Kit) I'm going to stick with other peoples recipes until I get my own hold on things After reading the post on partial mashes I've decided I want to give that a try.

I had a few questions though:

Most recipes I've seen are for All Grain. Is there any easy way to convert the AG to a partial mash recipe? Should I simply take half of the grains and throw in 3-4lbs of Dry or Liquid Malt Extract? Keep the same amt of hops etc? Or is there a more complex calculation that I'd need to do depending on which grains were used?

Also, some recipes are for 10 gallon batches. I'm only making 5 gallon batches. Can I simply half everything (including grains, hops, water etc)?

Specifically I was looking at Crabree's Wee Heavy Scotch Ale

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2011, 05:42 PM   #52
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc1210 View Post
Most recipes I've seen are for All Grain. Is there any easy way to convert the AG to a partial mash recipe? Should I simply take half of the grains and throw in 3-4lbs of Dry or Liquid Malt Extract? Keep the same amt of hops etc? Or is there a more complex calculation that I'd need to do depending on which grains were used?
The good beer software out there will do the conversion for you.