The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Recipe Formulation Help - Smokey Maple Syrup

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
samwrighteous
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Recipe Formulation Help - Smokey Maple Syrup

Hey fellow brewers,
I am relatively new to this, but I wanted to make a beer that is both smokey and flavored with maple syrup. I think this would be delicious, but I don't know exactly how to achieve this. Should it be a porter or stout or something else? I would like to do this using partial mash/extract ingredients and make a 5 gallon batch. I tried looking for a recipe but couldn't seem to find one. Any ideas? Thanks guys.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2011, 11:21 PM   #2
jonmohno
Recipes 

Liked 410 Times on 361 Posts
Likes Given: 1188

Take a basic porter or stout recipe and add some smoked malt adjusting the other grains. I have a hard time determining between browns-up to stouts.Im still stumped on wether my brown ale is a porter.
Ive added the maple for priming sugar but also added vanilla bean and checked it after a week and it is awesome. I think it may be brown american ale. I havent used the smoked malt yet but am going to soon. Probably in a honey porter. With that one i may just use Midwest supplies honey porter kit recipe you can download and just tweak it.
But since your new you may want to get a kit or read read read . I think Northern Brewer may have a kit you may be looking for though

Old 01-25-2011, 11:39 PM   #3
samwrighteous
Recipes 

And you could taste the maple syrup when you used it as a primer. How much did you use? 3/4 cup for 5 gallons? Also I have heard smoked malts can overpower more delicate flavors like maple syrup. What do you think is a good amount to use?

Old 01-26-2011, 12:19 AM   #4
jonmohno
Recipes 

Check a priming calculator some of them have maple syrup included, I think i used Tasteybrews calc.