Last week to Enter the Spike Brewing 20 Gallon Sight Glass Kettle Giveaway!



Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Really Noob Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2008, 04:50 PM   #1
EamusCatuli
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
EamusCatuli's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 531
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Really Noob Question

I want to check and see if my recent PM batch has fermented at all, because if it has I missed it. I can take a hydro reading in the primary correct? ( so long as I sanitize the hydro, of course)

__________________
A watched pot does boil!
EamusCatuli is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 04:51 PM   #2
Soulive
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Soulive's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Middle of NJ
Posts: 4,331
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Yes you're supposed to take hydro readings in primary. Keep it sanitary as you mentioned...

__________________
Cheers!


===================
Green Lane Brewing
===================

Primary = Evan!'s Special Bitter
On Deck = EdWort's Porter / American Amber


EdWort's Haus Pale Ale Count
Soulive is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 04:53 PM   #3
ohiobrewtus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ohiobrewtus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,814
Liked 38 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You sure can. If I need to take a reading before racking to secondary I used a turkey baster to pull out a sample into a flask and take a hydrometer reading from that.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bird
Well, if you *love* it.... again, note that my A.S.S. has five pounds.
ohiobrewtus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 07:50 PM   #4
eddie
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hermon, Maine
Posts: 1,084
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EamusCatuli View Post
I want to check and see if my recent PM batch has fermented at all, because if it has I missed it. I can take a hydro reading in the primary correct? ( so long as I sanitize the hydro, of course)
Do you mean putting the hydrometer into the primary fermenter instead of drawing a sample? This can be done but make sure you have thoroughly sanitized the hydro before setting it in there. Don't forget to wash and sanitize your hands as well.
__________________
eddie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 07:50 PM   #5
Soulive
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Soulive's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Middle of NJ
Posts: 4,331
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddie View Post
Do you mean putting the hydrometer into the primary fermenter instead of drawing a sample? This can be done but make sure you have thoroughly sanitized the hydro before setting it in there. Don't forget to wash and sanitize your hands as well.
Yeah and make sure you're fermenting in buckets or good luck getting the hydro out...
__________________
Cheers!


===================
Green Lane Brewing
===================

Primary = Evan!'s Special Bitter
On Deck = EdWort's Porter / American Amber


EdWort's Haus Pale Ale Count
Soulive is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 07:57 PM   #6
eddie
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hermon, Maine
Posts: 1,084
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I've heard of people Krazy-Gluing a piece of thread onto the tip of the hydro scale so they can gently lower the hydro into a carboy and remove it once readings are taken. I've never tried it myself, though.

__________________
eddie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2008, 09:12 PM   #7
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,425
Liked 1138 Times on 758 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Screw that.. no way to swig the sample.

__________________
BrewHardware.com has a new website. Please check it out and let me know what you think!
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD Ripple and 1500 watt versions coming soon
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc. Did you know we are also now a full service homebrew shop selling malt, hops, yeast (Wyeast), etc?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another Noob FG question Brew3D Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 10-01-2009 10:53 PM
noob question Gildog Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 05-02-2009 04:14 AM
Noob question pilotchef71 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 12-30-2008 02:47 AM
noob question kforest236 Cider Forum 5 10-21-2007 04:02 PM
not so noob, noob question loopmd Extract Brewing 11 12-07-2005 06:03 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS