Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Re: Keeping the Beer Cold during Fermintation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2010, 03:01 PM   #1
outdoors76
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Re: Keeping the Beer Cold during Fermintation

Hello everyone. I am new to brewing my own beer. Brewed my first batch last night a Blonde Ale. Had it at 70 degrees when I put it in the spare bathroom tub. This morning I went to check and see if it was fermenting. It was going crazy so I checked the temp and it was at 82 degrees. I immediatly grabed a tupperware tub and filled it with water and iced it down, only had enough ice to get it back to 70 degrees. Then I had to leave for work. Will get more ice on it at lunch. My question is have i hurt the beer in the fermentor or am I ok. Also I have a spare fridge in the garage and was wondering if it is possible to keep it at 60-70 degrees for the fermentation process.

Thanks in advance.

Erik

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2010, 03:03 PM   #2
JOHN51277

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 5 Posts

You can swap out frozen water bottles a few times a day to keep the temp down, along with a swamp cooler. OR get a temp controller for about 60-120 bucks to keep the extra fridge at the desired fermentation temp.

On Deck: Centennial Blonde, Midnight IIPA
Primary: SMaSH Citra/2 Row, KBS Clone
Secondary: ???
Kegged:
Bottled: Gulf Oil Spill Stout, Breakfast Stout, Amarillo SMaSH, Orange Wit, RIPA Oak/Bourbon Aged, Barleywine, Apfelwein,

Old 05-28-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
outdoors76
Recipes 

Thanks for the insight, but did I ruin my first batch by it being at 82 degrees overnight.

Old 05-28-2010, 03:10 PM   #4
wyzazz
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Quote:
Originally Posted by outdoors76 View Post
Thanks for the insight, but did I ruin my first batch by it being at 82 degrees overnight.