Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > racked to secondary too soon?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2006, 12:55 AM   #1
Long Live Liver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default racked to secondary too soon?

I just racked an IPA to the secondary, may be too soon... I pulled the cover off the plastic bucket and there was about 3'' of crap stuck to the side , but a good amount of froth still on top of the brew, I racked to the secondary, but i wonder about what effects this may have on the final product. OG 1.08, been in primary 6 days at 65 F

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2006, 01:40 AM   #2
JRGSPE73

Recipes 

I'm relatively new at homebrewing, so take my advice at your own discretion...it sounds like you may have racked to secondary a bit early (sounds like your fermentation wasn't quite complete), but you should still be OK. What kind of activity were you getting in your primary's airlock? I would wait for things to calm down in the secondary, then rack it to another carboy/bucket (to get it off of any yeast cake or trub that might be sitting in the bottom of your secondary) and let it sit for a while (until you get little or no activity in your airlock). Once you're there, you should be good to go for bottling. If anything, the additonal conditioning should help your brew clear up some more and allow more time for your trub to settle to the bottom. As they say, Relax, Don't Worry, Have a Home Brew

Just some advice from your friendly neighborhood noob...if anyone has a better idea or if I'm way off here, feel free to correct me.

-Josh

"You sir, are drunk!"
"And you ma'am, are ugly, but when I wake up, I will be sober..."
-Sir Winston Churchill

Primary #1:
Air
Primary #2 (Plastic): Air
Secondary: Air
Bottled/Conditioning: