Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Quick Fermentation Temp Question!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 10:58 PM   #1
PKisNJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Quick Fermentation Temp Question!

Hi gang,

I am still a little new to the crowd. I just recently hopped back into homebrewing and I have just had a great brew day. I brewed up a one gallon batch of brown ale and a 2.5 gallon batch of pale ale from separate kits. (I live in an apt so my brew size had to be scaled down)

As for my question I am currently fermenting both carboys in a mini-fridge with a johnson a419 controller hooked up to it. The probe is attached to the wall of the brown ale and insulated with insulating foam tape, a little bubble wrap and duct tape for good measure. The optimal temp for the brown ale is a wide range of 60-75, while the pale ale was recommended at 68-75. Currently I have the temp controller locked in at 69 degrees. Does this sound like a happy medium?

I look forward to your feedback.

Cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
gcdowd
Hopalicious
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 193 Times on 147 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Depends on what you want from the yeasts. I'd actually go 66, but I like to ferment a little cooler

God invented whiskey to keep the Irish from ruling the world.

Old 10-03-2012, 11:47 PM   #3
theveganbrewer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 290 Times on 206 Posts
Likes Given: 265

I personally don't let ales get over 68 unless I'm doing some belgian.

-Retired Homebrewer

Old 10-04-2012, 01:54 AM   #4
rygo796
Recipes 

I allow fermentation to take place near room temp with ok results. What I mean by this is I set my temp control so that it doesn't have to 'work' so much depending on the temp range for the beer.

Old 10-04-2012, 01:58 AM   #5
PKisNJ
Recipes