Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Questions on bucket primary/secondary fermentation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2007, 02:41 PM   #1
Poppy360
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Questions on bucket primary/secondary fermentation

Hi everyone. I just posted up in the Introductions thread so you can find out a little more about me there.

Anywho, I'm a complete newb with homebrewing. I received a kit for my birthday from my gf and I can't wait to get a batch going. FYI, the kit came with a primary fermentation bucket and lid, bottling bucket, bottle capper and filler, thermometer, auto-siphon, hydrometer, cleanser, bottle brush, and manual. I also got "The Joy of Homebrewing".

I'm headed up to the homebrew store today to pick up my first ingredients for a batch o' beer. Hopefully something hoppy and delicious.

I've been lurking on the forum for a couple of days now and I see that the 1-2-3 method is preferable for brewing. Since I don't have a second fermenter can I still do this? If not, what should the process?

The book recommends 3 days primary, then switch to the airlock and allow 7 days, then bottle, but from what I've read here it's not enough time.

Should I pick up another carboy today?

Thanks for the answers...I did try searching but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2007, 02:47 PM   #2
mozicodo

Recipes 

If you can afford it definitely pick up another carboy. Better bottles are also fine. They're plastic carboys. You'll only need a 5 gallon one for secondary and don't forget the bung and airlock.

Xtreme Mashtun Build Open Beer Data Project @aptidude on identi.ca

Android Software: ZymTools Free ZymTools Full

Old 05-16-2007, 02:47 PM   #3
Melana
Up to no good....
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes