The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > questions with brewing..and such

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2009, 01:37 PM   #1
SYKEKO
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default questions with brewing..and such

Ok ..Im pretty new to this.. I started my first brew from a Bru-Mix can you can get in sobeys... I did everything it said.. but I never added anything to the mix.. I put it into a Carboy with the yeast.. then when it was done I filtered it and put it into 2 liter bottles.. now I tried some while I was bottling and it was right watery.. still smelt like beer.. and had a beer taste but it tasted watered down... so my first question is.. will this get stronger over time? I also added some sugar to it and it seemed to make it alittle better but i'd still like to know..

Now my 2nd question. When I bought my Filter Kit. The woman there told me that it would filter all my sugar out of my beer.. is that true?.. because I was going to mix up another brew and add a Kg of sugar to it .. but what would be the point if its just gonna be filtered out. or does this matter?.. thanks for any help guys.. wonderful site you have here..

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2009, 01:48 PM   #2
Deuce
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 1

If your beer was completly finished fermenting, then there shouldnt be to many sugars there to ferment out. Also depends on the size of the filter as well. Not to familiar with the brews in a can though.

Old 07-22-2009, 02:07 PM   #3
SYKEKO
Recipes 

yeah that makes sense... Im gonna say it was done.. there was no bubbles and all the yeast was at the bottom... the filter I have is pretty big
its a EuroFilter for beer and wine I can't find a pic of it but heres a picture of the box
http://www.winemakeri.com/v/vspfiles...s/16436-2T.jpg

and heres a Pic of the bru can i used.. idk if it will help or not..