Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Pumpkin Ale sludge

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2011, 06:36 PM   #1
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Pumpkin Ale sludge

Hello All-

I'm a newbie to the forum but have been a reader and fan for a while. I figured now is the time for me to start getting some help.

This morning I brewed a pumpkin ale and am not confident in it, as there was a significant amount sludge put into the primary. I am aware that hop sludge will settle out but will canned pumpkin sludge? I decided to use canned pumpkin and added it directly to the boil with five minutes left. In reading other pumpkin recipes other most people are baking it and adding it to the mash. Has anyone added canned pumpkin directly to the boil? If so did you have a sludge problem that didn't settle out in the primary/secondary? I used 2 can's of Libby's canned pumpkin pie mix, 60 oz total.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 07:00 PM   #2
Unibrow
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Did the pumpkin sink or float to the surface of the bucket when you tossed it?

I'm trying to catalog every brew online so I don't have to keep notes all over the house. Check it out on my blog site below:

http://brewzak.wordpress.com/

Old 09-25-2011, 07:03 PM   #3
moorerm04
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

That's why it's always a good idea to either siphon you cooled wort into you fermenter, or pour it in through a strainer.

Old 09-25-2011, 07:17 PM   #4
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2005 Times on 1756 Posts
Likes Given: 1484

Your problem is that you used the pumpkin pie mix. This has the evaporated milk,seasonings,etc already in it. You're supposed to use canned pumpkin. Just plain pumpkin puree,in other words.

Old 09-25-2011, 07:34 PM   #5
cincybrewer
Recipes