The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > The process is frustrating sometimes...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2012, 02:04 AM   #1
Devin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 39 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default The process is frustrating sometimes...

I started brewing February of this year. I have 7 batches to date. All have been extract-based brews with steeping grains added for flavor. I have been moderately happy with all of them, but they all seem to share a slight twang that I am not fond of. I have tried some different things with all of them, but that strange twang is still there regardless of what recipe I brew. The only thing that has been a constant is the water that I use and the extract (Briess extra-light DME).

I have been reading that medicinal tones can be caused by chloramine. I am not sure if I would describe this "twang" as medicinal, but my next batch I am going to try treating the water with campden to see if that helps.

I am on the verge of going all-grain, but I would really like to crank out an extract brew that really "wowed" me first. Don't get me wrong, all of my brews so far have been pretty good - but not amazing.

The frustrating part is that each thing that I try takes so long to see the results. I wish that I could just make these changes in my process and see quicker results instead of having to wait for 4-6 weeks or more before seeing the effect of the change. Oh well, it is what it is.

Rant over.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2012, 02:09 AM   #2
menerdari
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 16

I suggest your next batch be with another water source, spring water from the store or something to see if your water is the problem.

Old 10-19-2012, 02:53 AM   #3
Clonefan94
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 179 Times on 119 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Quote:
Originally Posted by menerdari View Post