Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Problems with pouring from a pressure keg

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2014, 07:14 PM   #1
cornishniler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Problems with pouring from a pressure keg

Hi guys. May sound a stupid question to most but I am a real newbie at this.

My question is, I have brewed a coopers bitter and after the fermentation I transferred into a pressure keg. After approximately four weeks I poured a sample to try. The beer tastes brilliant but is extremely foamy to pour (I think I may have over carbed it). will this settle down on its own or should a relive some of the pressure.

I anticipate your suggestions

Thank you in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2014, 07:25 PM   #2
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 1950 Times on 1411 Posts
Likes Given: 1065

First, I am unsure what you mean by a Pressure Keg. Can you describe?

Meantime, I can say that a proper pour from a keg depends on a balance between a few things:

Pressure
Temperature
Line Length
Line Diameter

There are charts that show the proper length of a specific diameter of line that will provide the optimum resistance for a given temperature and beer carbonation. For example I might use 10 Foot of 3/16" beverage line for a beer that's 42 degrees and carbed to 2.4 volumes (That's just off my head and probably aren't actually the optimum numbers, it's only used for example)

To relieve some of the foaming you might use a longer line, smaller diameter, higher temp, or any combination.

You might also have beer that's over-carbonated, in which case you might need to agitate it and relieve the excess pressure.