Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Primary in bottling bucket?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2010, 08:42 PM   #1
sportscrazed2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dyer,IN, Indiana
Posts: 789
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Primary in bottling bucket?

Is it a bad idea to do primary in the bottling bucket so you can use spigot to get sg readings?

__________________
sportscrazed2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 08:48 PM   #2
Skaggz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gridley, CA
Posts: 271
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Some people do primary fermentation in a bucket with a spigot. You just have to make sure that you get the spigot throughly cleaned and sanitized due to the fact that it may contain some old sticky wort that can harbor bacteria.

Not advisable though, to bottle directly from the spigot if you primary ferment in such bucket. You'll get a lot of trub in the bottles.

__________________

Primary 1: Apfelwine
Primary 2: Buddy's Brown Porter
Primary 3: "Brown" Hefeweizen (oops?)
Primary 4: Chocolate Stout

Skaggz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 08:51 PM   #3
sportscrazed2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dyer,IN, Indiana
Posts: 789
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

no i was thinking about primary in the bottling bucket just so i could do gravity readings then using the spigot to transfer to a better bottle or something then cleaning up the bottling bucket and using it to bottle when secondary is done. edit is there a way to do gravity readings without having to fill the test tube 3/4 full? seems like a waste of potential beer.

__________________
sportscrazed2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 08:59 PM   #4
pimento
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 137
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

What size tube are you using?

I use the plastic tube that my hydrometer came in, takes maybe 1/4 cup, just enough to test the gravity and provide a small tasting.

__________________
pimento is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:02 PM   #5
sportscrazed2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dyer,IN, Indiana
Posts: 789
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

it's about a foot tall and about 1.5 inches in diameter or so.

__________________
sportscrazed2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:07 PM   #6
pimento
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 137
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

ahh, one of those big ones the HBS sells, easy solution is to chop 4 or 5 inches off with a hacksaw

__________________
pimento is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:09 PM   #7
sportscrazed2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dyer,IN, Indiana
Posts: 789
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

allright cool i will try that never even occurred to me

__________________
sportscrazed2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:34 PM   #8
Tombstone0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Finksburg, Md
Posts: 179
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

All that will do is make your hydrometer tube shorter. It won't mean you'll need any less beer to take a reading.

Most likely this will make the tube shorter than the hydrometer and you won't be able to use it at all, at least not for any readings above the top of the tube.

__________________
Tombstone0 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:37 PM   #9
sportscrazed2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dyer,IN, Indiana
Posts: 789
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

so is there a smaller tube i can buy? like thinner

__________________
sportscrazed2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 09:48 PM   #10
pimento
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 137
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tombstone0 View Post
All that will do is make your hydrometer tube shorter. It won't mean you'll need any less beer to take a reading.

Most likely this will make the tube shorter than the hydrometer and you won't be able to use it at all, at least not for any readings above the top of the tube.
I think the OP is talking about this type of test tube : http://www.northernbrewer.com/brewin...-test-jar.html

it's 14.5 inches long, unfortunately hydrometers are much shorter, meaning you have to fill the tube with more wort just so the hydrometer sticks out for spinning, retrieval and such.

Chopping it shorter means you can use less wort and still access your hydrometer.

I have no idea why they make them so tall, the extra width is nice, but the height is a waste.
__________________
pimento is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primary in Bottling Bucket Fletch78 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 31 03-19-2010 08:41 PM
Can a bottling bucket by used as a primary? msa8967 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 03-17-2010 12:54 PM
using bottling bucket as primary doodlevon Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 07-10-2009 06:59 AM
Bottling bucket as primary? kidoduck Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 7 04-27-2009 12:23 PM
Anyone use Bottling bucket for Primary ?? dukelynch Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 02-07-2006 08:21 PM