Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Primary in 5 gallon glass carboy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 11:41 PM   #1
plumber8302
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Primary in 5 gallon glass carboy

I am new to brewing and just received my starter kit today. While I am excited to start brewing, my plastic primary bucket did not come with a hole drilled in it for the air lock. My stoppers for the glass carboys did not come drilled either. My question is, can I just drill a hole in my stopper and use a glass carboy for my primary fermentation or should I just wait for the correct pieces to come. This will be my first batch and I don't want to mess it up.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
BleacherBrewing
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

If its a 5 gallon batch if wait because the carboy won't have enough head room. You would need a 6.5 gallon carboy to use as a primary for a 5 gallon batch.

Follow us on Twitter @JChalifour & @JennieOhMy
Like My blog The Would-be Brewmaster on Facebook
Friend us on Untappd JChalifour & JennieOhMy

Old 02-22-2013, 12:27 AM   #3
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 855 Times on 712 Posts
Likes Given: 318

No you shouldn't. You definitly don't want to drill the stopper, you don't have the right kind of drill for that. No you shouldn't wait for the right pieces either. Make your beer, put it in the bucket and set the lid on top, leaving it loose. As soon as your yeast get started they will be producing CO2 and it needs to get out. Nothing is likely to get in while the CO2 is coming out unless you have a dog or a goat. Keep those animals away from it.