New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Plastic bottle carboy?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 05:57 AM   #1
mahilly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Plastic bottle carboy?

Is a "Better Bottle" any different than the plastic 5 gallon water bottles from a typical water cooler service? Any reason why one of these plastic bottles can't or shouldn't be used as a carboy? Is the cost of a better bottle worth it if I can get a generic bottle for...let's just say free.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2009, 06:55 AM   #2
oms1981
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I'm no expert but I would guess that regular 5 gallon water jugs probably have BPA in them since it is found in many hard plastics. Look at the recycling symbol on the bottom. If I recall correctly a #1 or #7 is bad news. The better bottle is made to be non-porous, not permit oxygen permeability, and not create off flavors, so they say. I've never used one. I personally would be extremely cautious about using a random 5 gallon jug. But when it comes to making beer, i'm cautious about everything. that's just me.

Last edited by oms1981; 02-23-2009 at 07:00 AM.

Old 02-23-2009, 09:33 AM   #3
Maveric777
Recipes 

I have 4 of them I been using since I first started. They are the same thing as the Better Bottles except they don't have the "Better Bottle" logo on the side of them. Plus mine where way cheaper.... As in free....lol

They are perfectly fine to use......

On Deck - Imperial Stout, American Blond, Amber Mock Bock, "Cricket" #2

Primary - Dunkelweizen, Apfelwein

Bottled - Amber Wheat, Stout, Hefeweizen, Porter, Best Bitter

Old 02-23-2009, 09:39 AM   #4
Ben25
Recipes 

#1 PET is good, #7 Other is bad. Better Bottles are #1.

Primary #1:
Primary #2:
Secondary #1: Mead Experiment
Secondary #2: Welch's Wine Experiment