Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Plan of attack- wordy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2012, 05:26 PM   #1
Tvc15
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Likes Given: 9

Default Plan of attack- wordy

Im going to brew a American Pale ale from extract, I'm still a beginner and have made a mistake or two that is for sure- this is my 16th beer and I still have not created a beer that my beer snob of a wife is happy with.

Here is my plan of attack

1) Make a yeast starter with a American Ale smack pack, 1 cup DME, 1/2 tsp nutrient, and a liter of water. I will add the yeast at 70° than I will slowly cool to 61° for 24 hours.

2) Boil 5 gallons of water adding 12 oz Victory, 8 oz Munich and 8 oz white malts at 100° steeping up to 160° for a total of 30 min. Remove

3) Turn off heat at boil add 2 lb of Briess DME bring back to rolling boil for 5 min.

4) .Hops as follows, 5 oz Magnum at 60, .5oz Cascade at 15, .5 oz Cascade and .5 oz Centennial at 5

5) 1/2 tsb Nutrient and Whirlflock at 15 min remaining

6) 4 lbs LME at the end of boil- flame off

7) Add water to 5 gallons- Recirculate wort through pump and chill plate until mid 60's

8) Transfer to 6 gallon better bottle and aerate with bottled Oxygen through stone for 1 min

9) Place in cooler until 61°- add wort, seal with 1" blow off tube - maintain temp

10) At 2 days replace with another cap attached to hose that will fill another 5 gal better bottle outside the cooler with CO2-

11) At end of fermentation (aprox 1 week) transfer to the CO2 filled 5 gal better bottle slowly raising temp to 70° for 1-2 weeks

12) Transfer to C02 filled bottling bucket with priming sugar and bottle

13) Temp control bottles at 71° for 1 week- than let them sit in garage for a min of 3 weeks

14) Drink

Thoughts?