Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Pils Extract Extras- Suggestions Please!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2012, 11:05 PM   #1
Shuldawg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Pils Extract Extras- Suggestions Please!

First let me begin by saying- I'm a newbie, but I 'm hooked.

I recently finished my very first brew, which was an all extract wheat beer and I (and Friends) were very happy with the results. I just picked up my second extract today from my local HBS. I selected a pils along with a a WYeast Cal Lager Smackpack.

I'm not quite ready for 50/50 grain & extract brewing yet, but would like to find a way to customize my brew. So I purchased a jar of clover honey and was planning to add it to the extract during boiling. I was also thinking of getting a lemon, cutting it up and placing it in a muslin bag during boilwing as well. I'm thinking/hoping this would make a nice spring brew.

Here are my questions:

1. Is this a bad idea to begin with or will all be well?
  2. Any other things I could add to extract in hopes of a nice spring pils?

Thanks for your time and look forward to any feedback!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2012, 12:20 AM   #2
beerman0001
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

1) Very bad idea. Pils does not need or want those flavors.
2) If this is your first lager you need to make sure your yeast pitch and you temps are right. If you are happy with the results then you can tweak it to your liking.

Fermenting:Apfelwein
On Deck:
Hiding in dark corner: Lambic, Flanders red, Oud Bruin, DFH 120(in bottles)

Old 03-25-2012, 12:30 AM   #3
redking11
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Agreed, a pilsner is not supposed to have these flavors and I dont think they would go well.

Old 03-25-2012, 12:42 AM   #4
dale1038
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts