Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Beginners Beer Brewing Forum (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/)
-   -   opinions on these kegs please (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/opinions-these-kegs-please-380043/)

NewJersey 01-09-2013 07:07 PM

opinions on these kegs please
 
http://www.beveragefactory.com/draft...eg.html?bstr=1

these look really nice to me. certainly no worse than used soda kegs, right?
i have one used soda keg and one shiny ass ss i picked up off my buddy who decided to not continue brewing. not sure what brand his was, but i like the look of these more.
anyone ever buy these?
any vendors carry em?
thanks in advance, guys :mug:

spkguitar 01-09-2013 07:21 PM

If you're looking to buy new, I think you should look at these: http://stores.kegconnection.com/Detail.bok?no=134

Not as *shiny*, but much, much less expensive, even with shipping.

gelatin 01-09-2013 07:23 PM

spkguitar, your link has kegs for $98, while the OP has 2 kegs for $164.99, or just $82.50 each

JeepDiver 01-09-2013 07:28 PM

http://www.kegconnection.com/ new Italian (not Chinese) kegs for less

jflongo 01-09-2013 07:35 PM

One has flat rate shipping of $7.95, the other quoted me $24.99 for ground, don't forget shipping :-)

stpug 01-09-2013 07:37 PM

I remember reading about the BF kegs and finding out that they are fairly thin metal and not as durable. IIRC, I also remember people having some issues with the diptube length. At the minimal difference in cost I would personally opt to pay an additional $16 per keg to get the italian KC kegs.

gelatin 01-09-2013 07:37 PM

I did find some so-so reviews of them:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/reviews/...-lock-keg.html

Pscdouglas 01-09-2013 07:42 PM

Look for ones that stack with the connections on- not really important to you now but if you are buying brand new SS corny kegs you gotta believe that you may have a need to stack them in an upright at some point or another. Just a thought.

techbrewie 01-09-2013 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by spkguitar (Post 4766242)
If you're looking to buy new, I think you should look at these: http://stores.kegconnection.com/Detail.bok?no=134

Not as *shiny*, but much, much less expensive, even with shipping.

This. The reviews I could find about those bev connection ones arent great. a lot say the dip tube is too short and you end up wating 20-24 oz of product when the keg blows. I've also heard they are very thin walled and get dinged/damaged easily.

+1 to kegs like the one in the above link. if your buying new that's the way to go. however I would strongly urge you to look at reconditioned ones. you can get em for 40-60 bucks per keg, and the function exactly like new ones. Plus they'll be in the keezer or kegerator so people wont even see them.

my 2 cents.

the_trout 01-09-2013 07:51 PM

+1 to buying reconditioned kegs.

Its way cheaper and just as effective. Your new kegs are going to get beat up soon enough anyways. Put your saved money into something else that will actually make your beer better or something shiny that people will actually see.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:31 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.