Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Opinions on buying kits with work allready made in bag

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2012, 02:28 PM   #1
yankeefan1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Opinions on buying kits with work allready made in bag

Hi Im just starting out and im wondering about the kits with the wort allready made in the bag, just curious if these are any good and if anybody has experience with these? Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
william_shakes_beer
Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Exactly what kind of kits are you talking about? We can answer your question better with a link. I have done kits containing all extract (both liquid and dry) and extract with steeping grains. If there is a kit that contains a full 5 gallons of wort ready to pitch I'm not familiar with it.

Old 05-10-2012, 03:36 PM   #3
TopherM
Vinz Clortho - the Keymaster of Gozer the Gozerian
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Brew Setups
Recipes 

Liked 428 Times on 338 Posts
Likes Given: 22

I've seen the kits that come with the wort already done, and you just ferment it.

Look at it this way. Do you want to learn to make HOMEBREW, or are you interested in taking a few shortcuts to having some homebrew?

Do you want to learn to make HOMEMADE gourmet dinners from scratch, or do you want to put pre-made food in the microwave?

It's about the same thing. The real finesse/skill of homebrewing comes in creating the wort. Fermentation is the easy part.

Also, brewday where you create the wort is CERTAINLY the fun part! You'll be missing out on the fun part, and really only doing the tedious part.