Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > The "official" what/how YOU started thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2009, 12:35 AM   #21
Nugent
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Started less than a year ago at the prompting of a buddy who has been brewing for eight years. Everything that he recommended that I do for years, and I used to say "yeah yeah!" or "I can't because I live in a dinky apartment", I'm now doing - all-grain, full-wort boils, kegging.

It's a hobby that is quickly becoming an obsession. For example, I got into collecting battle rifles about five years ago, and used to go to the range at least once a month. Haven't been once since I started brewing. It's sad.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2009, 12:53 AM   #22
brian_g
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

If you want the longer version read my blog:
Home Brew and Wine: How I got started Brewing.

The short version.

I watch Craigtube and saw how easy it was. My first kit was from Coopers. I ordered it online. I had no idea there was a LHBS 5 minutes from my house. I found them, because I was googleing for homebrew supplies to make my next batch. I found this site:
Wine Making Supplies - Beer Making Supplies - Winemaking Supplys - Homebrewing - Homebrew Supply
I noticed they were located in Elkhart, IN. Hey!! So I googled for directions and realized it was only 5 mins from my house.
So I started with the prehopped extract, then went to extract with steeping grains after a couple of batches. I just did my first all grain last weekend.

Old 06-21-2009, 01:59 AM   #23
BillTheSlink
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts