Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Novice - need advice on kits, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2010, 03:56 AM   #1
MooDaddy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Novice - need advice on kits, etc.

Hi folks, I've finally decided to stop thinking about home brewing and start doing it.

I am thinking of getting this kit:

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/brewing-starter-kit.html

Questions:

1. I already have a new 5 gallon stainless steel pot - other than bottles and an ingredient kit, are there other essential - or better - items I need besides that which comes in the kit?

2. Do I want a glass carboy or a "Better Bottle", or does it matter a great deal?

3. Being a complete novice, am I going to probably start with a "20 minute boil" ingredient kit? As in:

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/tradi...-boil-kit.html

4. Are the basic 20 minute boil ingredient kits ever "messed with" as in adding other stuff, or is that a dumb question? (I am interested in the Irish Stout but thought of adding a bit of chocolate or something but may be getting ahead of myself here)

5. What is the purpose of a wort chiller and do I need one right off the bat?

6. Is boiling on the stove adequate for home brewing purposes or do I need a more powerful burner system?

Thanks, Tim

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2010, 04:02 AM   #2
OHIOSTEVE
Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 45

1- a thermometer and some sanitizer

2- you have what you need in that area, in the kit

3- no clue

4- I would stick with the basic recipe for at least a couple of brews to get the procedure down.

5- A wort chiller cools the wort down after boiling. It is not a necessity for partial boils. Just set the pot in a sink full of cold water or even ice water to cool it down.