Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Not hitting OG

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2012, 10:44 PM   #11
JeffoC6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 52 Times on 28 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcp27 View Post
yup, the closer to 60F (or whatever your hydrometer is calibrated to) the better. there is temperature corrections for higher, but once you get over 90F its not very accurate. under 80F is usually ok.

nope, it'll never be 100%. if its not listed, id assume its in the 65-75% range. it looks like that one is around 75% based on a quick check
But see, that's where I'm confused. So if I want to do this recipe, chances are (since I'm a noob), I'm not going to hit 75%....So....what efficiency should I be purchasing my grain bill based on? And then, let's say I actually DO hit 75%...Then what?

Planned:
Prim #1: Ed Wort's Bavarian Hefe
Prim #2:
Prim #3:
Prim #4:
Prim #5:
Prim #6:
Bottled: Saddle-Up IPA, Leaf House IPA

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2012, 11:04 PM   #12
dcp27
Recipes 

Liked 116 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 3

for now, id just go with basing it on 75%. in small batches, you'll tend to be on the higher end, so even just starting you should be ok. for the first few times, it may be good to have a lil DME around to add in case you come up short. on the other hand, you could assume lower efficiency and just dilute if you go over.

you can take a pre-boil gravity to get an idea of how close you are to target and calculate (or ask HBT) how much to adjust (dilution or adding DME). for instance, in that dunkel the post-boil OG is 1.057. if your pre-boil volume was 2gals, you'd expect a pre-boil OG of about 1.029 ( OG1 * Vol1 = OG2 * Vol2).

btw, generally with batches using pilsner you'll want to boil for 90mins. pils produces more DMS (reminiscent of canned corn) than other grains.

Old 01-30-2012, 11:20 PM   #13
JeffoC6
Recipes