Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Not experienced enough

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
RCannin
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 1 Posts

Default Not experienced enough

This is officially my first new thread (sorry for any mistakes). Note: I put this in the beginner section because these questions make me feel like a beginner haha! First off I’ve been brewing for several years and made the switch to all grain a year ago. I now use a 10gallon igloo cooler as a mash/lauter tun, a 13 gallon stainless steel turkey fryer as a boil kettle, have a copper manifold in the tun and use super 5 ph buffer in the mash. I cleaned everything real well with vinegar/water to remove corrosion first. Today I gave BM’s cream of three crops recipe a shot. Everything went well, I hit all my numbers and volumes and drained into the boil kettle. This is where things went strange. During the heat up to boil I swear the wort looked purple or blackish (and no I haven’t had a brew today!). I was boiling in the sun and it could have been an illusion, but everything looks normal again now during the boil. Anyone know what this is about? Lastly, can I skunk the batch by boiling and adding hops in direct sunlight? I’ve never had a problem before but always wondered if it happens or if it’s impossible. Thanks for the help!
-RC

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2009, 07:44 PM   #2
defenestrate
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

why would that skunk the batch?

Old 05-20-2009, 08:10 PM   #3
Joos
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 7 Posts

Do you use iodine?if you had any resedue that would turn it purpleish,would have to be a lot though.As for the skunking.Haven't moved off the stove yet so I couldn't tell ya.Oh and defenestrate.Sunlight=skunked beer.Thats why anything in a clear bottle or green for that matter tastes like ass.