Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Noob questions!! Help!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2008, 07:25 PM   #1
isp845
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Noob questions!! Help!

Hello all. I am new to this homebrewing thing. I'll try to make a long story short. I am brewing a cream ale from northern brewer. I followed the instructions (I think).

I boiled and stuck in the fermenter on 12/18/08. The og was 1.064. The instructions said the the og should be 1.042. I checked the temp at 60deg. I pitched the yeast soon there after. It bubbling in the airlock the next morning and had about 2 1/2 in of krausen by the next day. My first question is why is the og so high?

Today the krausen is gone, there is a nasty looking foam around the top of the fermenter. The air lock is getting a bubble about every 3 or 4 minutes.
The beer is very dark. Remember its a cream ale! So, my other question is when does the beer start to clear up or at the very least get lighter?

And my last question is how long should I keep it in the fermenter? I do not have a secondary yet..

I know, I know, RDWHAHB! I don't have any homebrew!

I will try to attach pics if it will let me. Any help from you pros would be greatly appreciated... Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2008, 07:32 PM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Welcome to Homebrewtalk.

The reason your OG was so high is probably the result of a common mistake most new brewers make. You added your top up water and did not mix it thoroughly with the wort, chances are your sample came up with more concentrated wort giving you a higher OG.