Noob ipa

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greggygreg

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm from salinas ca and I'm starting my first home
Brew(save applause for the end) :)

I got basic equipment ;
Fermentor bucket
Bottling bucket
7.5 boiling pot
And the other essential tools.

Going extract for my first batch. Bought a kit for a traditional west coast ipa with magnum and citra hops ( thought cascade was more traditional , but what do I know. I'm a noob lol)

Anyways, if there's any hints or tips or just a good luck is greatly appreciate it and can't wait to taste my first brew.
Fish on!

First, welcome to the obsession.
There's plenty of information available here, on other beer / brewing forums and on the internet.
I recommend buying and reading How To Brew, by John Palmer and The Complete Joy of Homebrewing by Charlie Papazian. Palmer is more technical, Papazian more of a 'feel' guy. Both IMO are indispensable.
For your brew, read the online version of How To Brew, at least the first couple sections, then be prepared to not do everything he says on-line (that is an old version, and he;s changed his mind about many things.)
Anyways, be prepared to do as large a boil as you can.
if you can do a starter (search here for info) do so, if not, rehydrate your yeast in warm water before pitching.
Keep the fermenting temps in the low to mid 60s.
DOn't keep opening the fermenter to look at it. Really. It's best left alone.
Give it plenty of time to finish. 2 weeks is minimum. I give my beer 3 weeks. Ditto for carbonation in bottles.