Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Noob here- Temperature fluctuations???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2009, 10:06 PM   #1
Shastapk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Noob here- Temperature fluctuations???

First post and I'm sure this has been addressed- sorry, I can't seem to figure out the search option yet. Going for my first batch, however I live in a cabin where the temps can range from 70-80 during the day to 40's at night inside (sometimes even colder). Can I brew with this wild range? I can try and insulate/immerse the carboy in water to level this out to some extent. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 10:07 PM   #2
llazy_llama
Recipes 

Liked 65 Times on 27 Posts

Swamp cooler with ice bottles when it's too hot. Swamp cooler with aquarium heater when it's too cold.

Search for swamp cooler. You'll see what I mean.

Old 04-27-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
llazy_llama
Recipes 

Also, good for you, looking out for fermentation temps. Your first batch is certain to taste much better than my first bubblegum IPA

Old 04-27-2009, 10:10 PM   #4
Shastapk
Recipes 

Ooops- I should clarify- I have limited electricity (generator) and no access to ice- town is an hour drive away.

Old 04-28-2009, 12:10 AM   #5
PatMac
Recipes 

Do you have a bin of some sort and a freezer? A swamp cooler is really the way to go, I'm using one myself right now and it is incredibly efficient and easy to use.

Old 04-28-2009, 12:47 AM   #6
Schnitzengiggle
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 16