Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Next partial mash beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2012, 01:29 PM   #1
kooklife
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Next partial mash beer?

I am a beginner homebrewer and have brewed a couple of beers. My latest was my first partial mash beer, it was a kolsch. I was wondering if I should keep brewing partial mash beers for a while or maybe go all grain? And what exactly is the difference ?
Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
GilSwillBasementBrews
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 131 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 19

The only real difference is in partial mashes your generally using small amounts of steeping grains that already have their starches converted to sugar and DME/LME in your wort. Whereas all grain your using base malts that need their starches converted to sugar(mashing) with steeping grains without adding extract. All grain also gives you more flexibility with the fermentability of your wort depending on what temp you mash as.

Beer Plus Science = .....Good!!!!! By: Adam Savage

Old 09-25-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
EvilDeadAsh
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

IMO if you are already doing partial mash, there's no reason not to jump into AG brewing. As long as you have the equipment to do so, I would say go for it. The main difference, as Gil said above is all your wort will be created from grain instead of partially from extract.

Good luck!

Old 09-25-2012, 02:34 PM   #4
chickypad
lupulin shift victim
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 253 Times on 226 Posts
Likes Given: 114

Quote:
Originally Posted by GilSwillBasementBrews View Post
The only real difference is in partial mashes your generally using small amounts of steeping grains that already have their starches converted to sugar and DME/LME in your wort.