Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newbie with Questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2005, 09:33 PM   #1
1911Man
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Newbie with Questions.

So I am very excited to have found y’all. I am brand new to home brewing and I have all kinds of questions. My first batch, Arsenal Beer Works Double Barrel Brown Ale (I will post the label when it’s completed), is in its first fermentation and is starting to slow a touch after ~3 days, which I expected. I can not wait to see what it turns into.

Anyway, on to the questions.

- Why the transfer to a second carboy for a second fermentation? If you are not adding anything to the mix and just moving it, couldn’t you have completed it in your primary fermenter?

- My understanding is that the beer should “Clear” in the second fermenter. What does that mean, what is “clearing” out of the beer?

- In the recipe kit for this Nut Brown Ale I am working on, it says 5-7 days in the primary, 5-7 days in the secondary, and at least 2 weeks in the bottles. I’ve read here about the 1-2-3 rule. If I went with that, would the extra week in the secondary fermenter have any negative effect on the beers flavor, or should I just stick with the directions for my first time out?

I guess that's it for now, I am sure that I will come up with more questions. Thanks for the help and I will grab a cold one while I continue to wait.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2005, 09:40 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

The focculated yeast starts starving to death in the trub, so you either remove the trub or move the ale to a secondary. Clearing is just how it sounds, more yeast and some of the proteins fall out. And extra week won't hurt.