Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newbie question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2012, 11:53 AM   #1
sc0tty81
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Newbie question

Hello everyone,
I got a brewing kit for Xmas and have my brew in primary fermentation, it says to keep it at 19-21 celcius so I got it in the house, I'm worried about the temp dropping through the night, will it have an effect if its colder than the guidelines say?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 11:54 AM   #2
sc0tty81
Recipes 

It's a youngs lager kit btw

Old 12-30-2012, 04:22 PM   #3
Ynksfan27
Recipes 

I'm pretty new to brewing as well, but I would try wrapping a blanket around it. You can also just keep your thermostat turned up for a few weeks. This is what I do lol.

Old 12-30-2012, 04:44 PM   #4
CBMbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 61 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 13

When the temp gets too low for me I sometimes fill milk jugs/2liter bottles with hot water, circle them around the fermenter, pressed up against them and wrap the whole thing in a sleeping bag. Has worked really well for me. Be careful though, got a little too warm on one occasion.

Happiness is in the eye of the beer holder

Old 12-30-2012, 04:49 PM   #5
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 473 Times on 439 Posts
Likes Given: 210

Ideally you want to keep as steady a temperature as possible through the active fermentation phase which could be 3-7 days. Temperatures swings can cause stress to the yeast and create off flavors. If the temp gets too cold the yeast will just quit and drop out until warmed back up.

Try placing the vessel in a tub of water to help equalize and maintain the temperature as the volume of water will create an insulating layer

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old 12-30-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
sc0tty81
Recipes 

Cheers guys, ill keep an eye on it and run it a bath if necessary