New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newbie confused what to do next

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
KimmiC
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default Newbie confused what to do next

Hi,

As a newbie, I made my first batch (Moose Drool from a kit) last Friday evening, September 6th.

Everything seemed to go smoothly as far as me following the directions. It is in a bucket with a 3 piece airlock and I took a gravity measurement with the hydrometer right before I put the lid on and it read 1.052.

It bubbled nicely in the air lock for 24 hours and a little vodka either dissipated or got sucked in, not sure. So on Saturday I carefully took the top lid off the airlock and added more vodka. It bubbled again but then stopped on Saturday evening.

I’m doing this in our basement with a finished kitchen and we have had nice cool weather until yesterday. I noticed the temp in the room last night reached 72 degrees so I put a wet shirt on the bucket with a small fan going. It’s pretty dark in there so I’m not worried about sun light. But it’s supposed to be really hot again tomorrow – although it is cooler in our basement, I’m nervous about it getting hot out again in Connecticut - they are talking 90 degrees tomorrow

So far have I done everything right up to this point?

I’ve been reading up on here that there is no need to transfer to a secondary fermenter. My kit came with a glass carboy and the instructions say to transfer into it after 7 days. I would take another gravity reading first but do I even have to transfer? After reading on here, many people don't.

So if I keep it in the bucket, when should I take another reading and is it ok for me to open the top to do so? What is the best way to do this - I want to be as sanitary as I can.