Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newb alert!!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2009, 05:16 PM   #1
spitfire
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Newb alert!!!!

So obviously I am a newb when it comes to brewing.

I have learned that I am better off piecing my equipment rather than buying a "kit"

I will be going around to the flea markets/yard sales/craigslist in search of supplies such as carboys, coolers, kegs, etc

I do plan to go with keg rather than bottle as it seems much easier.

Here are a few quick questions. I would like to start brewing ASAP evening if I don't have all the supplies for more complex brews. I seen listed in the "store" section on this site the Coopers beer kits. What additional to the kit do I need to brew this? Just a 5 gallon pot and pot for fermenting? I see a lot of places are offering plastic containers now, anything wrong with them? Any reason why I couldn't just use the ones they sell at grocery stores?

Cost, once I have all the things needed, how much does it cost on average to brew a batch, in terms of ingredients? I know you can't really out a price on brewing your owing VS buying a case of beer but would you said a 5 gallon batch cost 30,40,50+ to brew? Keep in mind, I do not have any supply stores around here so i have to order online. I know I will have a million other questions but this is all I can think of right now.

Thanks
Jason

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2009, 05:23 PM   #2
macabra11
Recipes