Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to Yeast Starters

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2013, 03:24 PM   #1
samuelcollins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Ive got the mr malty app, but I'm still having trouble figuring it out. I'm brewing a high gravity beer, so need a healthy pitch.
Let me be specific, I am getting in the calc that I need 314 billion yeast cells. With a starter, it appears to get that number I would need 2 packs in 3.58 liters. I am assuming this would be 2 packs of 100 billion Wyeast in a DME solution. I've never ever done a yeast starter before, always just threw the stuff in. I realize now this won't cut it. Any thoughts for a noob here?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2013, 05:04 PM   #2
flars
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 501 Times on 453 Posts
Likes Given: 101

I use YeastCalc. Clearly shows how to make step up starters with one pack yeast. http://yeastcalc.com/ Check out the Care and Feeding of Your Yeast tab.
More information from Wyeast. http://www.wyeastlab.com/hb_makingastarter.cfm
One thing to remember about making starters; the best yeast health and growth comes with a starter of about 1.037 to 1.040 SG.

Old 08-04-2013, 05:55 PM   #3
samuelcollins
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

It seems to me Mr malty is telling me to use 3.86 liters in my starter flask with 2 packs. My flask is only 2000 ml which is a half gallon. Yikes! Should I do two seperate starters and combine them? What would others do? Seems like a large amount of liquid to me.

Old 08-04-2013, 06:08 PM   #4
sfgoat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 6 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 36