Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to the Home Brew; Festa Brew Wheat with Honey!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2009, 03:47 PM   #1
SeamusMac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Festa Brew Wheat with Honey! UPDATED w/ Pictures

Hey guys n gals!

I'm a Canadian university student who has just gotten into brewing his own in order to save some dollars so I'm really excited about learning how to make some great home brew!

My favorite beer is Propeller Honey Wheat, a micro brewed beer here in Halifax, Nova Scotia. It's what I'm trying to replicate.

I'm living in an apartment but I'm still able to find enough room for a couple of carboys in the closet A couple of days ago I began Festa Brew's Wheat beer and added 700g of unpasteurized honey to the primary as per a local brewing store's instructions. It smells fantastic so far! Not an awful lot like beer yet, it's still very sweet smelling but once its bottled I won't touch it for at least 2 weeks.

Once the Festa Brew moves to the secondary I'd like to start another kit, this time something less expensive. Perhaps a Cooper's Wheat with honey and malt extract?

UPDATE, Now with pictures! Sorry some of these are sideways, photobucket is a piece of garbage.

A close up of the top of the secondary, I was a little worried about fermentation restarting after I switched it from the primary, but it started again after half a day.

I have the secondary sitting in the closet near my front door at a pleasant 21*C, it was a great smell to come home to when I had my primary in the same spot.

There is still evidence of fermentation going on. I added 700 grams of honey to the wort, which was in addition to the fermentables already in it, although I was told it wouldn't increase the ABV by very much, I'd like it to be under 6%.

Queequeg Likes This