Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to Brewing which Kit?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2008, 06:39 AM   #1
DevB22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New to Brewing which Kit?

Hello,

I am very new to brewing! I am very committed to trying it out, and would like to know where/what is the best kit for a beginner?

I have checked the forums, but have not gotten a final answer.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2008, 06:43 AM   #2
kforest236
Recipes 

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/products/RecipeKits.aspx?SubCat=110 The honey bee ale was my second batch. Very easy and tasty.

Old 02-10-2008, 08:07 AM   #3
Kai

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 3 Posts

Austin Homebrew has a great rep for its recipes, though I can't testify to that firsthand. It has a pretty extensive list of commercial clones, too. Check them out.
Kegged: Christmas Ale
Bottle Conditioning:
Drinking: Saison Bâtard

The Green Wall Nanobrewery
tibi non nolis

Old 02-10-2008, 11:08 AM   #4
brewt00l
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

What kind of beer do you want to brew? All the major online HBS have decent kits.

Old 02-10-2008, 04:03 PM   #5
Rick_R
Still Love Fried Chicken
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

If you are talking ingredients kit, I would start with an "extract with grains" ale kit from a homebrew supply house that puts together tried and true recipe ingredients for you. The links below are to the index of recipe kits from some online suppliers:

MoreBeer
Austin Homebrew Supply
HopTech
Midwest Homebrew

Pick an ale that sounds like what you would want to drink and order the recipe kit. You will need a yeast to go with it -- for starting out, order a dry yeast and get two (or three) spare packages.