Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to the brewing hobby

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 01:44 AM   #1
BakerBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 15

Default New to the brewing hobby

Hello,

My name is Michael and i am new to the hobby of brewing. I am 30years old and enjoy a great tasting wheat beer! My wife and i just got married and for a wedding gift some one got me, Yep! You guessed it! a Mr. beer brewing kit.

Last week Wed i started my first brew! I tasted this evening (8 days from the beginning) and it taste flat. So from what i read its done! time for bottling! However! its still a little cloudy so i am going to give it another day or 2 and see if it clears up ever so slightly.

I have read some nice post on here regarding the bottling phase. So no table sugar huh? any other suggestions?

Also, if this turns out good, i may buy a few more cans off Mr beer and try again. maybe get a small home kit off line of a little better quality.

Any ways! i look to you beer gods! any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 01:57 AM   #2
innocent75
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Welcome to the addiction, er, I mean hobby.

I have done some table sugar to prime. Didn't by any means ruin a batch. Not ideal but assuming you used the mr beer ingredients you may not have a whole lot of ideal options.

I generally use corn sugar or dried malt extract (DME). I have also used carb drops. They are little tablets that resemble a cough drop. If you have a homebrew shop close by stop in and buy some corn sugar or DME. If not use table sugar. It is your first batch and it is a fun way to learn what changing certain things will do to the final product.

Old 11-09-2012, 02:05 AM   #3
zzARzz
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 5