New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > The new brewer. A cautionary tale.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 04:18 PM   #1
Ricochetbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 5 Posts

Default The new brewer. A cautionary tale.

I am a fairly new member to HBT but am amazed by the beginning brewer forum. I wished I would have known about it when I started brewing 8 years ago. I truly enjoy reading the questions posted and get a chuckle when I come across someone who made similar mistakes in their first brews as I did.
That being said I wanted to touch on two common mistakes new brewers make when starting out. I think even the seasoned brewers can agree that they either fell into one of these two categories or at least dabbled with them.
Before I launch into my theory I want to say that I am in no way targeting any single brewer on this thread. I am simply making an observation based upon reading numerous threads and my own experience/mistakes.
Here. Goes. New brewers, myself included typically make two major mistakes when they start brewing. These mistakes are trying to make incredibly high gravity beers right out of the gate and trying to get mad scientist in the Brew pot by creating crazy recipes or messing with adjuncts.
When I started brewing I wanted to make beer with a crazy high ABV. While this can be a fun way to impress your friends, without a sound understanding of what makes beer alcoholic your recipes will suffer. I added everything from honey to boiled corn sugar to my wort just trying to make high gravity beer. I didn't know anything about extracts or grain bills, and much less about brew house efficiency and the conversion of starches. This led to beers that I simply couldn't be proud of. Off flavors and odd mouthfeel was the signature of my first brews.