Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to the brew...just a few questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2010, 06:33 AM   #1
sekbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New to the brew...just a few questions...

Hi all. My name is Josh and I'm new to home brewing. I'm only 24, but I've been fascinating with craft-beers and beer brewing in general for as long as I can remember. As a recent college grad, with degrees in graphic communications and business management (totally unrelated to brewing, I know, lol) I've decided that I'd like to start my own brewpub/micro/whatever within the next 5-6 years. To get there, I know I'll have to pay my dues and learn how to brew first. As someone who never 'jumps in without testing the waters first', I've been researching for about a year now; reading, watching videos, taking brewery tours, etc. and have gained a pretty fair understanding of the brewing process and am now ready to start brewing my own beer. (exciting!) Luckily, my dad is a pipefitter/welder that works in the food/drink industry with food-grade piping and equipment...he has access to TONS of valves, tanks, hoses, piping, etc. and is going to help me out in any way he can (he is building some racks for me as well). Anyways, I just wanted to take time to introduce myself and just wanted to know if there are any pointers/things to watch out for that you guys with experience would be willing to share before I start my first brew? i.e.: Is there a certain recipe/style that you would recommend for a first-timer? I am a huge fan of wheats and am looking to go that route..but...

I'll continue to read throughout the forum and use the info already given, but any more would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2010, 06:47 AM   #2
nanofreak
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 5