new to brew- help understanding recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fun4stuff

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to beer brewing (familiar with wine and mead brewing). I was hoping someone could help me understand a recipe that I would like to make this weekend.

Recipe is listed here:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f73/be...dal-dragonmead-final-absolution-clone-137219/

Extract:
3 x 3.3lbs Pilsner Light malt extract LME
1 x 1lbs Amber DME
1 x 1.5lbs Belgian Candy
12.4 total pounds of fermentables

Hops: (IBU came out at 23 but you can range from 20 to 25)
2 oz. German Hallertau 3.8%AA 60min
1 oz. Styrian Goldings 3.4% AA 30min
1 oz. Saaz 2.8% AA 3min

My understanding of the steps involved:
1. Boil 3 gallons of water (no grains to steep)
2. Remove from stove and add the malt extracts (pilsner LME, amber DME) and Belgian Candy. Stir and dissolve.
3. Put back on stove and resume boil. Continue stirring.
4. Once boiling resumes, start adding Hops. First add German Hallertau, then 30 mins later add Styrian Goldings, then 27 mins later add Saaz, then 3 minutes later take off stove.
5. Put in primary, cool to 80 degrees (add 3 gallons of cold water), to bring to total volume of 6 gallons.
6. Once at ~80 degrees pitch yeast (starter).

Are these basically the steps that I need to take? Some people mentioned adding the belgian candi at the end of the boil?

Thanks!

You are certainly on the right track. I would suggest splitting your malt extract additions - add around a third of the total of the extract at the beginning of your boil, and when you have about 10 mins left in the boil stir the rest in. This will help your hop utilization rates and keep the resulting beer as light as possible.