New to the brew. Got tips?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jelowry

Reaction score
My name is Jordan and I'm new to the craft beer thing about 6 months and now its become a passion. I am getting ready to make my first purchase on a home brewing kit, even thinking about going to school.

Anyone have any tips for someone like me that is just starting out in the craft beer/home brew area?

For the first time brewer, I think the easiest thing to overlook is fermentation control. Mainly because kits don't really give you enough good information on it. Make sure you pitch enough yeast and keep it in the lower end of the optimum temperature range. If you are doing an Ale, no temp control in a 70 degree room will make your beer ferment too hot.

Weather it's a couple of ice packs and a towel wrapped around the ferementer or a swamp cooler set up, make sure you keep the beer itself in the mid 60s while fermenting.

There are obviously a ton of other things to learn to perfect your beer, I just feel this is the one thing that all the instructions fail to give you any real detail on, yet I feel it's the reason most homebrewers first beer isn't very good.

Be meticulous about sanitation, pitch the correct amount of viable yeast at the right temperature, and ferment at the temperature range of the specific yeast you are using for an adequate amount of time. If you do these things, and use a solid recipe, I promise you'll have beer that rivals commercial beers.