Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > never took the hops out... did i ruin the beer???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2010, 02:44 AM   #1
junkyardog024
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default never took the hops out... did i ruin the beer???

Hello all-

First of all very good site lots of great info!! I appreciate the membership and and any help you can offer.

I'm new to this game and think i made a bit of a mistake. I tried to search the forum to get help to avoid overposting, but didn't find any results.

I made a golden palisade IPA kit from austin homebrew supply. Everything went fine, I seeped the grain bag added the hops at the proper time and cooled it quickly (put the pot in the creek behind my house, actually worked really well), then added the yeast.

Long story short, I followed all the directions but it didn't say in the directions to take the hops out of the wort before it went in the primary. I've been doing some reading and think that I should have taken them out. I left them in for like 2 weeks and most of it settled out, there's like a 3 inch green pile in the bottom of the carboy.

Please help me out, did I mess up? where do I go from here? dump it or bottle it?

The hops are palisade and yakima golding if that makes any difference

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2010, 02:49 AM   #2
Smokeater233
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

You don't need to filter the hops out - once you siphon to your bottling bucket (if you are using any kind of filter) it will miss much of the leftover hops and other material. And, the spigot on the bottling bucket is intentionally higher than the bottom of the bottling bucket to ensure that the rest of the leftovers don't get into the bottles themselves. You are all good.

Old 10-13-2010, 02:50 AM   #3
Skaggz
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1