The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Need help understanding recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
claytontlewis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Need help understanding recipe

Hey guys,

I'm new to homebrewing and I think I've jumped in over my head a bit. I've got the equipment setup to do a full mash, and I bought the ingredients from a local homebrew store to make Lagunitas' Cappuchino Stout. I'll post the recipe below, but my problem is that I'm not fulling understanding it. I stopped by a brewery over the holidays and I think I've got a good handle on it now, but still missing a few points. If I'm right then I need to mash the grain at 155 for an hour and then remove the grains and add the hops at the indicated times. I don't understand the 0 minutes or dryhop ingredients and need to know how to add these. I also am unsure of how long it should be in the primary fermenter, the secondary, and bottle before drinking. Any help at all would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance and I look forward to brewing.

>From BYO September 2005, Vol.11, no.5 (p.52)
Lagunitas Cappuccino Stout clone(5 gallon all-grain)
OG = 1.070
FG = 1.014
IBU = 52
SRM = 35
ABV = 7.2%

Ingredients:
10 lb 1oz 2-row pale malt
1 lb 12.5 oz wheat malt
1 lb 4.75 oz Crystal 609.5 oz chocolate malt
9.5 oz corn sugar
3 oz coffee

7.4 AAU Horizon (60 min) << 0.67 oz @ 11% AA
0.72 AAU Willamette (30 min) << 0.14 oz @ 5% AA
2.15 AAU Cascade (30 min) << 0.36 oz @ 6% AA
4.9 AAU Willamette (0 min) << 0.98 oz @ 5% AA
5.9 AAU Cascade (0 min) << 0.98 oz @ 6% AA
0.07 oz Willamette (dryhop)
0.08 oz Cascade (dryhop)

Wyeast 1056 American Ale yeast
0.75 cups corn sugar (for priming)

Step by Step:
Mash at 155ºF. Boil 60 minutes, adding corn sugar at beginning of boil. Ferment 70ºF. Brewcoffee and add in secondary.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 06:47 PM   #2
TyTanium
Recipes