Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Need help with my water levels!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2011, 08:05 PM   #1
Houdini
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Need help with my water levels!

I'm a newbie who has just finished making my first batch of brew .

While I wait for it to bottle condition I'm looking at getting a little more in depth for my next batch. I figured I'd get a water report to see how my tap water is, and adjust according to whatever beer type I decide to make next.

However, after talking to the Administrator of Operations for my local water treatment facility, they could only give me levels of Calcium, Magnesium, Sodium, and Alkalinity (carbonates). So I have a few questions:

1) If my water treatment facility can't give me levels of Sulfate and Chloride then how can I get this? Is there an inexpensive testing kit I can purchase?

2) Am I right in assuming the "Alkalinity (carbinates)" is CaCO3 and not HCO3-, in which case I have to multiply the value by 1.22 to get the true HCO3- value?

3) I can use calculators to figure out what kind of additions I need to add, but not sure when to add these. Do I add them to the water right at the beginning before I even start boiling?

- Houdini

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2011, 08:15 PM   #2
hopsalot
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 55

1. http://www.wardlab.com/FeeSchedule/WaterAnalysis.aspx Do it

2. yes CaCO3, I do not think there is any conversion needed, someone else might have a better answer.

3. Yes

http://bjsbrewery.blogspot.com/

Old 09-12-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
Nateo
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by Houdini View Post
2) Am I right in assuming the "Alkalinity (carbinates)" is CaCO3 and not HCO3-, in which case I have to multiply the value by 1.22 to get the true HCO3- value?
- Houdini