Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Need advice on mini-mash - how much water to use?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2009, 05:16 AM   #1
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Need advice on mini-mash - how much water to use?

I posted this in the Easy stovetop partial mash thread (sticky), but didn't get an answer, so I'll try it down here.

I'm a noob at homebrewing, having only done one all extract brew. For my second brew, I decided to go with a mini-mash kit from AHS (SN pale ale clone). I just received my kit today and see that the instructions call for a lot more mash water than what has been recommended here. The grains in the kit are 2.5 lbs 2-row and 10 oz. Crystal 60L, for a total grain bill of 3.13 lbs, with 5 lbs. xpale extract added later. The instructions call for heating 2.5 gallons water to 160 F, then soaking the grains at 155 F for 45 min. followed by rinsing with 1.6 qt (1 qt. per 2 lbs grain) of 170 F water. This means mashing 3.13 lbs grain with 10 qts. water, or 3.2 qts. per pound - approx. double what DeathBrewer recommends in the sticky thread above. If its better to use less water (to maintain a high enzyme concentration?), why would AHS recommend the larger amount - maybe just because its easier to keep the temp. constant with more water? Would I be better off to use about 5 qts water at about 165-168 F instead of the 10 qts. at 160? And then just sparge with whatever I need to get my desired boil amount (I plan on doing about a 4 gallon boil).

Last edited by DeafSmith; 02-14-2009 at 05:24 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2009, 06:04 AM   #2
lapaglia
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts