Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Neccessary to dismantle/sanitize kegs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2012, 01:48 AM   #1
bc_boy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default Neccessary to dismantle/sanitize kegs?

Hi, I'm new to kegging and wondering if you really need to take off the posts and ensure everything is sanitized.

I kegged a few times in 2011, gave up brewing, and left a little beer in each keg. Now the posts are totally impossible to remove. I will have access to proper deep sockets/impact wrenches in a month, but want to keg tomorrow as is.

I filled both kegs with hot PBW and ran thru the lines and perlick faucet, which appears to clean both. Tastes clean after rinsing....so no prob?

I normally use the kegs at fridge temps only and don't let them sit more than a month, so I am trying to talk myself into forgoing sanitizing for this brew,

Thanks for any advice!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 11:29 AM   #2
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 412 Times on 316 Posts
Likes Given: 616

I breakdown and clean/sanitize all my kegs before I refill them. It's amazing the gunk you find. Now, I know some will sorta rinse/sanitize their kegs before refilling. But, if the keg has been sitting with beer in it for 2 years? Dude.... Would you make spaghetti sauce in a crock pot and leave it dirty on the counter for 2 years and then just rinse it off to reuse? I use simple open box wrenches to take off the posts, no need to buy a whole socket set. Sometimes, when I first get the kegs (which still have soda syrup in them from years ago, sound familiar?), I have to tap the wrench with a hammer to break it loose. Your spending all this time and money to make a brew, why jeopardize it?

Old 10-30-2012, 11:34 AM   #3
bad67z
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 106 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammy71 View Post