Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is My Yeast Still Good?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2010, 11:46 PM   #1
TRainH2o
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Is My Yeast Still Good?

Hi all,

I bought a couple of kits from ABS last September. I brewed one on Teach a Friend to Brew Day. Since I am new and had little equipment, I only had 1 fermentor. Needless to say, I had to wait to brew my second batch until I kegged the first. Next thing you know it's Christmas and I really didn't have time to brew until now.

Being a total newbie I didn't think about refrigerating my yeast.....until now. It has been at room temperature since the kit came in. It's a liquid White Labs California Ale yeast.

Is it still good?
Do I need to make a starter for it?
What's the quickest way to get it going?

Tomorrow is our first day in many weeks that it's going to be near 50˚*outside and I would really like to brew it up before life happens again. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 11:51 PM   #2
hamiltont
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Only way to know for sure is make a starter & see...

If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!

Old 01-13-2010, 11:54 PM   #3
Hugh_Jass
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 15

If you'd like to brew tomorrow, you can visit your LHBS and purchase a comparable dry yeast(us-05). If you plan to wait, you can either make a starter for the yeast in your possession or purchase a different yeast. I wouldn't go through the time, effort, and trouble of brewing a batch of beer for a "maybe my yeast will be viable to ferment my batch with good results".
US-05 would be the cali ale dry replacement.
Cheers!

Old 01-14-2010, 02:37 AM   #4
TRainH2o
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5